Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field Announces 2011 Hall of Fame Inductees

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Sally Rogow and Edward Allen to be Inducted into the Hall of Fame for Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field in 2011


The Hall of Fame for the Blindness Field, founded in 2001, is housed at the American Printing House for the Blind (APH) in Louisville, Kentucky. The Hall, which belongs to the entire field of blindness, is dedicated to preserving the tradition of excellence manifested by specific individuals through the history of outstanding services provided to people who are blind or visually impaired in North America. The Hall is guided by a nine member voluntary Governing Board.


To date, forty-six outstanding professionals have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Joining those legends are two remarkable icons whose impact has been felt internationally. The ceremony to induct Dr. Sally Rogow and Dr. Edward Allen will take place Friday evening, October 14, 2011 in conjunction with APH's Annual Meeting of Ex Officio Trustees and Special Guests, at the Galt House Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky.


The Class of 2011:


Edward Ellis Allen

Edward Ellis Allen (1861 - 1941)


Dr. Edward Ellis Allen was instrumental in professionalizing the field of education for students who are blind and visually impaired. His high personal and professional standards infuse the work of our schools for the blind daily. Allen oversaw the design and construction of two residential schools for the blind: Overbrook (1899) and Perkins (1912) which are still in use. In 1920 he created the first teacher training program for students who were blind and visually impaired in partnership with Harvard College, now housed at UMass Boston. Allen Introduced the first interpoint and interlinear braille embossing equipment in the U.S. in 1898 and sponsored research and the development of standardized testing which established that the intelligence of people with visual impairment is unimpaired.


“Edward Ellis Allen's greatest contribution lay in his insistence that educational methods focus on the student. His forward-thinking innovations presaged the child-centered teaching methods that are the foundation of our field today. His educational innovations were driven by the understanding that the needs and gifts of the individual student must be integrated into the teaching plan.” - Jan Seymour-Ford


Sally Rogow

Sally Rogow


Dr. Sally Rogow is a renowned educator, researcher, author, and human rights advocate who pioneered teacher preparation programs in the area of visual impairment across Canada. Among her accomplishments were creating and directing the master’s program at the University of British Columbia (UBC) and her studies significantly expanding our understanding of language development and literacy in children with disabilities. Rogow has shared her findings in numerous books, articles, stories, and presentations. Following her retirement from UBC, Dr. Rogow became an international advocate against the abuse and neglect of children with disabilities through her writings, lectures, and as director of The Person Within program.


“Dr. Rogow’s boundless energy stems from her uncompromising belief in human potential and equality and from her celebration of diversity. Her unflagging resolve to advance the needs of students with visual impairments is a wonderful inspiration to all and I, like so many others, am deeply indebted to her. Dr. Rogow exemplifies the commitment, self-reflection, professionalism, expertise, and humility needed to enable children to reach their full potential.” - Dr. Erika Forster



Additional information regarding the 2011 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will soon appear on the APH website, www.aph.org.


Visit the Hall of Fame website for information on the Hall and those inducted.




The Hall of Fame Voluntary Governing Board:

Jim Deremeik (MD), Chair

Kathleen Huebner (PA), Vice Chair

Jane Erin (AZ), Secretary

Janie Blome (KY), Treasurer

Billy Brookshire (TX)

Mike Cole (CA)

Ann MacCuspie (CAN)

John Maxson (CA)

Diane Wormsley (NC

Cay Holbrook, (CAN) Past Chair


Questions? Please contact Bob Brasher, Hall Curator, at 800/223-1839, ext. 369 or bbrasher@aph.org.


Hall of Fame: Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field is a project of the entire field of blindness, curated by the American Printing House for the Blind, a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. 

Click HERE to learn more about the Orientation and Mobility course!
view counter
Follow PPLVR on Facebook Follow Emerald Education Systems on Twitter Follow PPLVR on RSS Email Us

Join our Mailing List:

Click HERE to learn more about the CVI course!
view counter